Require approval for flows

Supported editions for this feature: Business Starter, Business Standard, and Business Plus; Enterprise Standard and Enterprise Plus; Education Fundamentals, Education Standard, Teaching and Learning add-on, and Education Plus. Supported add-ons for this feature: Google AI Pro for Education. 

As an administrator, you can require user approval for Google Workspace Studio flow steps that share data outside of your organization, for example, steps that add content to a file or send a message to an external group.

When user approval is required, users must approve any steps in a flow that share data externally before the flow can continue, helping protect your organization's data.

Turn on user approval

  1. In the Google Admin console, go to Menu and then Apps and then Google Workspace Marketplace apps and then Google Workspace and then Workspace Studio.
  2. Under Approvals, configure the user approval requirements for the following options:
    • Sensitive steps: Appears for steps that share data externally. Defaults to Let user decide.
    • Custom steps: Applies to custom steps and Google Workspace add-ons if custom step settings are enabled. Defaults to Never (since custom steps are turned off by default). For details, see Allow or block Google Workspace custom steps.
    • Third-party integration steps: Applies to third-party integration steps if integration settings are enabled. Defaults to Never (since integration settings are turned off by default). For details, see Allow or block Workspace Integration steps.
      • Always: Users must manually approve each step.
      • Let user decide: Users can choose to approve steps once, approve permanently, or deny the request.
      • Never: User approval is never required. These steps are auto-approved.
  3. Select an option in the Require users to approve steps that share data with external users box:
    • Always: Users must manually approve each step.
    • Let user decide: Functions the same as the Always option. There is an upcoming change to let users decide whether to manually approve or allow auto-approval of these steps.
    • Never: User approval is never required. These steps are auto-approved.
  4. Click Save.

Notes:

  • Today, selecting Let user decide results in the same behavior as Always. This means users must manually approve every step that shares data externally. There is an upcoming change to let users decide whether to manually approve or allow auto-approval of these steps.
  • If your edition supports data protection, you can also create custom rules to require approval or block actions based on data that you choose. For details, go to Security advisor for data protection.

About DLP for Studio